Häusler Contemporary

»And The Stars Look Very Different Today« | Group Show

»And The Stars Look Very Different Today« | Group Show

»And The Stars Look Very Different Today« * | The art of 1968 and beyond
Opening: Thursday, August 30, 2018 | 5 – 8 pm
The Zurich Galleries’ Season Opening
Exhibition until November 3, 2018

With workd by Jan Dibbets | Harriet KormanGary Kuehn | Barry Le Va | Richard Allen Morris | Klaus RinkeKeith Sonnier | Bob Stanley | Michael Venezia | Peter Young

On the occasion of the 1968 movement’s anniversary, Häusler Contemporary Zürich is pleased to highlight the art of that time which has always been our gallery’s foundation. In the 1960s, new tendencies like Process Art, Conceptual Art, but also Pop Art were established and were to become seminal for the generations to follow. With selected guests and gallery artists we revive the innovative vigor of art around 1968 and the spirit of that time.

The year 1968 is having its 50th anniversary. In the collective memory, this year is related to fundamental social change with left-social protests and the hippie movement. In fact, at that time topics and tendencies culminated that had begun throughout the 1960s and lasted well into the 1970s.

Art too was undergoing decisive changes back then: new tendencies, such as post-minimalism, process and conceptual art, which our gallery represents, focused on a new, integrative and ephemeral understanding of art and on resistance to rigid, authoritarian forms. At the same time, in the 1960s Pop Art came to full fruition, further softening the traditional boundary between «high» and «low art». This mood of renewal, this «state of change», which dominated art before and after 1968, can be experienced in our exhibition of important protagonists of those days.

Press Release

*from: David Bowie, »Space Oddity«, 1969

[top]

Häusler Contemporary

Vorschau: »And The Stars Look Very Different Today« | Gruppenausstellung

Vorschau: »And The Stars Look Very Different Today« | Gruppenausstellung

Peter Young, »Dot Painting«, 1969 | Acryl auf Leinwand | 214 x 214 x 4 cm

Peter Young, »Dot Painting«, 1969 | Acryl auf Leinwand | 214 x 214 x 4 cm

»And The Stars Look Very Different Today«* | The art of 1968 and beyond
Eröffnung: Donnerstag, 30. August 2018 | 17 – 20 Uhr
Saisoneröffnung der Zürcher Galerien
Ausstellung bis 3. November 2018

Mit Werken von Harriet KormanGary Kuehn | Barry Le Va | Richard Allen Morris | Klaus RinkeKeith Sonnier | Bob Stanley | Michael Venezia | Peter Young

Häusler Contemporary Zürich freut sich, im Jubiläumsjahr der 68er-Bewegung die Kunst jener Zeit zu beleuchten, die seit je her das Fundament unseres Galerieprogramms bildet. »Process Art«, Konzeptkunst, aber auch die »Pop Art« etablierten sich in den 1960ern als neue Kunstrichtungen, die wegweisend werden sollten für die Nachfolgegenerationen. Mit ausgewählten Gastkünstlern und galerieeigenen Positionen lassen wir die innovative Kraft der Kunst um 1968 und den Geist der damaligen Zeit wieder aufleben.

Das Jahr 1968 jährt sich aktuell zum 50. Mal. Es ist ein Jahr, das im kollektiven Gedächtnis mit einem fundamentalen gesellschaftlichen Wandel verbunden ist, mit links-sozialen Protesten und der Hippie-Bewegung. Tatsächlich kulminierten damals Themen und Tendenzen, die sich während der gesamten 1960er-Jahre angebahnt hatten und die bis weit in die 1970er hinein wirkten.

Auch die Kunst wurde in dieser Zeit von massgebenden Umwälzungen erfasst: Neue Tendenzen wie Post-Minimalismus, Prozess- und Konzeptkunst, für die unsere Galerie steht, setzten auf einen neuen, integrativen und ephemeren Kunstbegriff und auf den Widerstand gegen starre, autoritäre Formsetzungen. Gleichzeitig kam in den 1960ern die Pop Art zur vollen Entfaltung, welche die tradierte Grenze zwischen «high» und «low art» weiter aufweichte. Diese Stimmung der Erneuerung, dieser »Zustand der Veränderung«, der auch in der Kunst vor und nach 1968 tonangebend war, wird in unserer Ausstellung mit wichtigen Protagonisten von damals erfahrbar.

Medienmitteilung

*aus: David Bowie, »Space Oddity«, 1969

[top]