Häusler Contemporary

Hamish Fulton at BombasGens Centre d’Art, Valencia (ES)

Hamish Fulton at BombasGens Centre d’Art, Valencia (ES)

Hamish Fulton, »France. A 2838 Kilometre Coast to Coast Walking Journey (Holland Spain France Switzerland Germany The Netherlands)«, 2002 | Foto/Text | gerahmt 115 x 139 x 4 cm | Foto: Mischa Scherrer

Hamish Fulton, »France. A 2838 Kilometre Coast to Coast Walking Journey (Holland Spain France Switzerland Germany The Netherlands)«, 2002 | Foto/Text | gerahmt 115 x 139 x 4 cm | Foto: Mischa Scherrer

Hamish Fulton »Walking on the Iberian Peninsula«
BombasGens Centre d’Art, Valencia (ES)
June 8 – November 4, 2018

Between 1979 and 2016, British artist Hamish Fulton made 16 walks along the Iberian Peninsula: continental Spain, the Canary Islands and Portugal. He has undertaken most of these walks on his own, however some of them were made with one person, and others collectively. Hamish Fulton is an artist whose form of expression is walking. His walks are made of paths and roads, of landscapes. He does not work with the landscape, neither does he take objects from it. On the contrary, he focuses on leaving no traces behind.

This exhibition brings together a selection of works created during (or from) these walks, from photographs and drawings to sculptures. The exhibition focuses on paths organised in different areas of the Mediterranean: from Riumar to València and Xàtiva, and from there to Benicadell and Alicante. In addition, a series of texts are displayed on the walls, some of them made specifically for the exhibition at Bombas Gens Centre d’Art — conceptualizing the direction and duration of his walks in a wider format. Neither documents nor descriptions, by combining pictures and words he allows the viewer to somehow grasp the experience of walking. 

This exhibition is organised in collaboration with Colección INELCOM Arte Contemporáneo, Madrid, and espaivisor, Valencia.

[top]

Häusler Contemporary

Hamish Fulton im BombasGens Centre d’Art, Valencia (ES)

Hamish Fulton im BombasGens Centre d’Art, Valencia (ES)

Hamish Fulton, »France. A 2838 Kilometre Coast to Coast Walking Journey (Holland Spain France Switzerland Germany The Netherlands)«, 2002 | Foto/Text | gerahmt 115 x 139 x 4 cm | Foto: Mischa Scherrer

Hamish Fulton, »France. A 2838 Kilometre Coast to Coast Walking Journey (Holland Spain France Switzerland Germany The Netherlands)«, 2002 | Foto/Text | gerahmt 115 x 139 x 4 cm | Foto: Mischa Scherrer

Hamish Fulton »Walking on the Iberian Peninsula«
BombasGens Centre d’Art, Valencia (ES)
8. Juni – 4. November 2018

Zwischen 1979 und 2016 unternahm der britische Künstler Hamish Fulton 16 »Walks« auf der iberischen Halbinsel: auf dem kontinentalen Spanien, den Kanarischen Inseln und in Portugal. Die meisten dieser Wanderungen trat er alleine an, einige davon hat er jedoch mit einer Person und anderen im Kollektiv durchgeführt. Hamish Fulton ist ein Künstler, dessen Ausdrucksform das Gehen ist. Seine Wanderungen bestehen aus Wegen und Straßen, aus Landschaften. Er arbeitet nicht mit der Landschaft, auch nimmt er keine Gegenstände daraus. Im Gegenteil, er konzentriert sich darauf, keine Spuren zu hinterlassen.

Diese Ausstellung vereint eine Auswahl von Werken, die während dieser Spaziergänge entstanden sind, von Fotografien und Zeichnungen bis hin zu Skulpturen. Die Ausstellung konzentriert sich auf Wege in verschiedenen Gebieten des Mittelmeers: von Riumar nach València und Xàtiva und von dort nach Benicadell und Alicante. An den Wänden sind darüber hinaus eine Reihe von Texten zu sehen, die zum Teil eigens für die Ausstellung im Bombas Gens Centre d’Art angefertigt wurden und die Richtung und Dauer seiner Spaziergänge in einem breiteren Format konzeptualisieren. Fultons Werke sind weder Dokumentationen noch Beschreibungen, doch durch die Kombination von Bildern und Wörtern ermöglicht er den Betrachtenden, die Erfahrung des Gehens zu erfassen.

Diese Ausstellung wird in Zusammenarbeit mit Colección INELCOM Arte Contemporáneo, Madrid, und Espaivisor, Valencia, organisiert.

[top]