Häusler Contemporary

Hamish Fulton | Talk and Perfomance at Centre Pompidou, Paris, FR

Hamish Fulton | Talk and Perfomance at Centre Pompidou, Paris, FR

Hamish Fulton, »The Life of Mountains (France)«, 1993 | photo/text | unique copy | sheet 41 x 50 cm | photo: W. Stahl

Hamish Fulton, »The Life of Mountains (France)«, 1993 | photo/text | unique copy | sheet 41 x 50 cm | photo: W. Stahl

»Thought and Debate: Hamish Fulton«
Centre Pompidou, Paris, FR
Talk and Performance by Hamish Fulton
Thursday, February 23, 2017, 6:30 pm

»In Vivo« is a cycle at Centre Pompidou in Paris devoted to performance, where an artist present in the contemporary collections is invited to express him/herself through their work, and/or to give a performance. In February 2017, Hamish Fulton is invited to talk about his work with curator Pascale Krief and to perform afterwards.

In the late 1960s, the British artist Hamish Fulton, considered one of the most important in the realm of conceptual art, began going on long walks conceived as performances. He sees them as works in their own right: moving sculptures in the landscapes he walks through.

Unlike Land Artists, Fulton does not intervene in situ and takes no materials from nature, but on his return, he materialises the experience of the walk in visual form through photography, mural paintings, articulated volumes (rulers), inscriptions and indications. These works, found in museums allover the world, fulfill the statement of intent he formulated in 1973: »No walk, no work«. As his work has progressed, Fulton has invented a language-form and an attitude – within the most conceptual meaning of the term – embodied in forms that look simple but establish a conceptual relationship with reality through a detachment of meaning, between what is shown and what is meant.

In 1994, Hamish Fulton began reactivating his collective performance walks, the first of which took place in London in February 1967, and the most iconic in the Tate Modern in 2011.

(Excerpt from the Center Pompidou’s announcement)

[top]

Häusler Contemporary

Hamish Fulton | Talk und Perfomance im Centre Pompidou, Paris, FR

Hamish Fulton | Talk und Perfomance im Centre Pompidou, Paris, FR

 Hamish Fulton, »The Life of Mountains (France)«, 1993 | Foto/Text | Unikat | Blattmasse 41 x 50 cm | Foto: W. Stahl

Hamish Fulton, »The Life of Mountains (France)«, 1993 | Foto/Text | Unikat | Blattmasse 41 x 50 cm | Foto: W. Stahl

»Thought and Debate: Hamish Fulton«
Centre Pompidou, Paris, FR
Talk und Performance von Hamish Fulton
Donnerstag, 23. Februar 2017, 18:30 Uhr

Der Zyklus »In Vivo« des Centre Pompidou in Paris ist der Performance-Kunst gewidmet. Künstler aus der Sammlung zeitgenössischer Kunst sind dabei eingeladen, über ihr Werk zu sprechen und/oder eine Performance abzuhalten. Im Februar 2017 wird Hamish Fulton mit Kuratorin Pascale Krief über sein Werk sprechen und anschliessend performen.

In den späten 1960er-Jahren begann der britische Künstler Hamish Fulton, einer der wichtigsten Konzeptkünstler, mit seinen Performances in Form von ausgiebigen Wanderungen. Die Wanderungen sind eigenständige Werke: bewegte Skulpturen inmitten der Landschaft, die er durchschreitet.

Anders als die Künstler der »Land Art«, verändert Fulton vor Ort nichts und nimmt auch keine Objekte aus der Natur mit zurück ins Studio. Vielmehr materialisiert er dort die Erfahrungen der »Walks« in visueller Form, als Fotografie, Wandmalerei, Wandobjekten (Massstäben) und Textbildern. Diese Werke, die in Museen weltweit zu finden sind, erfüllen den Grundsatz, den Fulton 1973 formulierte: »No walk, no work (Ohne Wanderung, kein Werk)«. Im Laufe der Zeit hat Fulton eine eigene Sprache und eine Haltung – im ganz konzeptuellen Sinn dieses Begriffs – entwickelt. Vordergründig einfach erscheinend, schlagen seine Ausdrucksformen eine besondere Brücke zur Realität in dem Bedeutung freigesetzt wird zwischen dem, was gezeigt wird und dem, was gemeint ist.

1994 hat Fulton kollektive Wanderungen wieder aufgenommen, von denen die erste 1967 in London stattgefunden hatte und die wohl bekannteste 2011 in der Tate Modern.

(Aus der Ankündigung des Centre Pompidou)

[top]