Häusler Contemporary

Hamish Fulton at Villa Merkel, Esslingen

Hamish Fulton at Villa Merkel, Esslingen

Hamish Fulton
»Walking Transformation«
Villa Merkel, Esslingen
Opening: March 9, 2014
Exhibition until June 8, 2014

Hamish Fulton, born 1948 in London, is working on an extremely self-contained work. It is very poetical and testifies to a molded, authentical and cosmopolitan attitude.
Hamish Fulton is transforming the »walking« into a new art form since more than 40 years: the »walks«. He is creating artworks by walking. He undertakes walks on every continent on the earth, for example »From coast to coast« over the British isles, and transforms them. On the basis of notations and photographs collected while walking he creates wall drawings, wall paintings, photographs, texts or objects. They can be read as universally valid artistic forms of consolidation of diversity from original and direct relationships of human beings to the earth, but also as a passive protest against urban societies who alienate humans from nature. »No Walk, no Art« is Hamish Fultons uncompromising description for his way of working.
Inherently the walk is seen as a work. Fulton constitutes himself in the poles of strain and recreation, concentration and distraction, stress and regeneration, experience and adventure. Hamish Fulton is looking for comprehension, not for prospects. For him, walking is also a form of self-assurance.
The exhibition in Esslingen is being preceded by Walks in India. They will constitute the nucleus of the exhibition, complemented by a few works from earlier Actions. Far more than a half of the works featured at the exhibition in Esslingen will have been newly created for this occasion.

[top]

Häusler Contemporary

Hamish Fulton in der Villa Merkel, Esslingen

Hamish Fulton in der Villa Merkel, Esslingen

Hamish Fulton
»Walking Transformation«
Villa Merkel, Esslingen
Eröffnung: 9. März 2014
Ausstellung bis 8. Juni 2014

Hamish Fulton, geboren 1948 in London, arbeitet an einem überaus eigenständigen Werk. Es ist poetisch und zeugt von einer profilierten, authentischen und weltoffenen Haltung.
Hamish Fulton überführt seit gut 40 Jahren das »Gehen« in eine neue Kunstform: die »Walks«. Gehend schafft er Kunstwerke. Auf allen Kontinenten der Erde unternimmt er »Walks«, etwa »From Coast to Coast« über die Inseln Großbritanniens, und transformiert diese. Auf Basis von Aufzeichnungen und Fotos, die während der »Walks« gesammelt werden, entwirft er Wandzeichnungen, Wandbilder, Fotografien, Texte oder auch Objekte. Sie lesen sich als allgemeingültig künstlerische Formen der Verdichtung der Erscheinungsvielfalt ursprünglicher und unmittelbarer Beziehungen des Menschen zur Erde, aber zugleich als passiver Protest gegen urbane Gesellschaften, die Mensch und Natur voneinander entfremden. »No Walk, no Art« lautet Fultons sympathisch kompromisslose Beschreibung seiner Arbeitsweise.
Schon den Walk selbst begreift der Künstler als Werk. Es konstituiert sich in den Polen von Anspannung und Entspannung, von Konzentration und Ablenkung, von Anstrengung und Erholung, von Erfahrung und Erlebnis. Hamish Fulton sucht Einsichten, nicht Aussichten. Das Gehen ist für ihn auch eine Form der Vergewisserung der eigenen Person.
Der Esslinger Ausstellung voraus gehen «Walks« in Indien. Sie werden den Kern der Ausstellung bilden, ergänzt durch einige Werke vergangener Aktionen. Weit mehr als die Hälfte der Arbeiten der Esslinger Ausstellung werden eigens aus ihrem Anlass neu entstanden sein.

[top]