Häusler Contemporary

James Turrell | New Installation at Children’s Hospital Zurich (CH)

James Turrell | New Installation at Children’s Hospital Zurich (CH)

James Turrell, New »Curved Elliptical Glass« | Permanente Installation
University Children’s Hospital Zurich (CH)
Opening: Wednesday, March 21, 2018 | 6 – 8 pm
Opening hours: on Sundays, 1 – 5 pm | March 25 – September 30

James Turrell (*1943, Los Angeles, lives in Flagstaff, US) is one of the most important international artists of our time. He dedicates his entire work to light and its spatial manifestations. People from different cultures are fascinated by his installations.
The new work from the »Curved Glass« type – assuming for the first time a horizontal elliptical shape – was specially created for the University Children’s Hospital Zurich. The brightly colored aperture appears unfathomable between plane, volume and infinite depth. The view loses itself in the barely noticeably changing color moods which follow a detailed program and which could just as well be complementary contrasts and afterimages that the eye generates itself. As always with Turrell you are confronted with the act of seeing itself and with the phenomenon of light, which suddenly has its own physique.
(From the work description, Deborah Keller, Häusler Contemporary)

In dealing with particularly stressful situations, patients, relatives and often also employees of the children’s hospital need special support. James Turrrell’s new pavilion makes a visible contribution to this […]. The »Light Space«, which is designed to meet the needs of the Children’s Hospital, provides space for rest and inspiration, joy and happiness, but also grief and comfort.
(From the Children’s Hospital’s press release)

Photos: Florian Holzherr

Häusler Contemporary

James Turrell | neue Installation im Kinderspital Zürich (CH)

James Turrell | neue Installation im Kinderspital Zürich (CH)

James Turrell, neues »Curved Elliptical Glass« | permanente Installation
Universitäts-Kinderspital Zürich (CH)
Vernissage: Mittwoch, 21. März 2018 | 18 – 20 Uhr
Öffnungszeiten: jeweils sonntags, 13 – 17 Uhr | 25. März – 30. September 2018

James Turrell (*1943, Los Angeles, lebt in Flagstaff, US) gehört zu den international bedeutendsten Künstlern unserer Zeit. Sein gesamtes Schaffen widmet er dem Licht und dessen räumlichen Manifestationen. Menschen unterschiedlichster Kulturen werden von seinen Installationen in den Bann gezogen.
Das neue Werke vom Typ »Curved Glass« – hier erstmals in einer quergelagerten Ellipsenform – ist speziell für das Universitäts-Kinderspital Zürich entstanden. Die farbig leuchtende Öffnung erscheint unfassbar zwischen Ebene, Volumen und unendlicher Tiefe angesiedelt. Der Blick verliert sich in den kaum merklich sich ändernden, detailliert programmierten Farbstimmungen, die ebenso gut Komplementärkontraste und Nachbilder sein könnten, die das Auge selbst generiert. Wie immer bei Turrell wird man mit dem Sehen selbst konfrontiert und mit dem Phänomen Licht, das plötzlich eine eigene Physis erhält.
(Auszug aus dem Werktext, Deborah Keller, Häusler Contemporary)

Im Umgang mit besonders belastenden Situationen brauchen Patientinnen und Patienten, Angehörige und oft auch Mitarbeitende des Kinderspitals besondere Unterstützung. Der neue Pavillon von James Turrell leistet dazu einen sichtbaren Beitrag. […] Im speziell auf die Bedürfnisse des Kinderspitals ausgerichteten »Light-Space« finden Ruhe und Inspiration Platz, Freude und Glück, aber auch Trauer und Trost.
(Auszug aus der Pressemitteilung des Universitäts-Kinderspitals)

Fotos: Florian Holzherr

[top]