Häusler Contemporary

Roman Signer at Centre de la photographie Genève

Roman Signer at Centre de la photographie Genève

© Roman Signer, UK/London, 2015

© Roman Signer, UK/London, 2015

Roman Signer »Le temps gelé / Die gefrorene Zeit«
Centre de la photographie, Genève (CH)
Opening:September 15, 2016
Exhibition until November 13, 2016

The CPG is hosting the first solo exhibition in Geneva of visual artist Roman Signer (born in 1938, lives and works in Saint-Gall) since the one held at the CEC (Centre d’édition contemporaine) a quarter of a century previously.
It examines for the first time a little known aspect of his work: the snapshot, in other words time stopped, time frozen. Starting with his little known photographic series, the »Reisebilder«, the CPG reveals the links between sculptural works and photographic works and attempts to showcase what is photographic in nature in Roman Signer’s work.

The exhibition will be crowned by a publication in November 2016 with texts by curators Joerg Bader and Carmen del Valle.

The exhibition is supported by the Fonds cantonal d’art contemporain, the Fonds mécénat des sig – services industriels de Genève, Pro Helvetia, the Alfred Richterich Stiftung and the Galerie Häusler Contemporary München | Zürich.

[top]

Häusler Contemporary

Roman Signer im Centre de la photographie Genève

Roman Signer im Centre de la photographie Genève

© Roman Signer, UK/London, 2015

© Roman Signer, UK/London, 2015

Roman Signer »Le temps gelé / Die gefrorene Zeit«
Centre de la photographie, Genève (CH)
Eröffnung: 15. September 2016
Ausstellung bis 13. November 2016

Das CPG zeigt die erste Genfer Einzelausstellung von Roman Signer (*1938, lebt in St.Gallen) seit seiner Präsentation im CEC (Centre d’édition contemporaine), die rund ein viertel Jahrhundert zurückliegt.
Die aktuelle Ausstellung zeigt erstmals einen wenig bekannten Aspekt von Signers Werk: den Schnappschuss, in anderen Worten, gestoppte Zeit, gefrorene Zeit. Ausgehend von der wenig bekannten Serie der »Reisebilder« zeigt das CPG die Verbindung zwischen seinen skulpturalen und seinen fotografischen Werken und versucht zu zeigen, wie in Signers Arbeit die Natur fotografisch dargestellt wird.

Als Krönung der Ausstellung erscheint im November 2016 einer Publikation mit Texten der Kuratoren Joerg Bader und Carmen del Valle.

Die Ausstellung wird unterstützt vom Fonds cantonal d’art contemporain, vom Fonds mécénat des sig – services industriels de Genève, Pro Helvetia, von der Alfred Richterich Stiftung und von der Galerie Häusler Contemporary München | Zürich.

[top]